Olá do Brasil

16MOQUECA-superJumbo.jpg

Today Mittens and I find ourselves at one of the most beautiful cities in the world, Rio de Janeiro. We had one of Brazil’s most famous dishes. If you like seafood, like Mittens and I do, then you will love Moqueca. Moqueca is a fish stew full with delicious vegetables and Brazilian herbs and spices. Now this dish is the definition of comfort food. Usually when someone thinks about soup they think of an appetizer or just something small you eat when you don’t feel well. Moqueca is not your ordinary soup. You can eat this dish as a dish all by itself and it will be filling and satisfying. The soup is very hardy and full of incredible flavors. Mittens loves fish so this was the perfect meal for him. I wasn’t able to finish all of my soup so Mittens gladly finished the rest of mine. Once we left the restaurant I had to carry Mittens to the hotel because he too full to walk. Whenever you find yourself in Rio de Janeiro make sure to stop by any local restaurant and order the Moqueca. I promise you won’t regret it.

Rio de Janeirokanyerio.jpg

Since we were in Rio de Janeiro we knew we had to visit the world famous statue, Christ the Redeemer. There are many movies, TV shows, and artwork that shows us the image of this iconic statue. Seeing it in person is a whole new experience. Unfortunately, I didn’t look too thrilled in this picture because I packed the wrong clothes for this trip. I was prepared for a cold day, but if you didn’t already know there really isn’t any cold days in Brazil so I was a bit uncomfortable. Mittens, on the other hand, is always comfortable by my side!

Leave a Reply

